Data Analytic Investments
RIPPLE book coverRIPPLE — the book·numbered first edition·$29Buy now
Market Observation

The iPhone Duo goes on sale: specs, prices and first reviews of the first foldable iPhone – from $1,999, with January delivery dates

A book-style iPhone with two displays and two battery cells. On day one: little in-store stock, online deliveries slipping to January and mixed reviews. The numbers and the opinions, with sources and without buying advice.

D
Data Analytic Investments
••4 min read
The iPhone Duo goes on sale: specs, prices and first reviews of the first foldable iPhone – from $1,999, with January delivery dates

On Friday 23 October 2026 Apple's first foldable phone, the iPhone Duo, went on sale. The first store was in Sydney, which opened at 8 am local time. According to Macworld's guide, sales began on day one in more than 70 countries and regions, with 28 more markets following on 30 October. This article summarises the published figures and first opinions. It gives no buying advice.

Fact sheet
Displays5.4" outer, 7.6" inner, 120Hz
Size11.3 mm thick closed, 5.2 mm open
Weight254 g
ChipA20 Pro, 2nm
Cameras48MP main + 48MP ultra wide, no telephoto
AuthenticationTouch ID in the side button, no Face ID
SIMeSIM only
Price (US)$1,999–$3,199, 256GB–2TB

Source: Macworld, updated 23 Oct.

Illustration: a half-open folding phone without brand marks in front of a pastel background
AI illustration (artist's depiction).

The form: a book with two displays

The iPhone Duo opens like a book. According to Macworld, it measures 84.1 × 117.8 mm and 11.3 mm thick when closed, and 164.6 mm wide and 5.2 mm thick when open. It has two Super Retina XDR OLED displays: 5.4 inches outside and 7.6 inches inside, both at 120Hz. The frame and hinge cover are grade 5 titanium, and the phone is rated IP68.

Reviewers praised the hinge: the inner display shows almost no crease.

What is missing

The Duo drops a few things found on other high-end iPhones:

  • no telephoto camera, only main and ultra wide;
  • no Face ID, with Touch ID in the side button instead;
  • no Action button, although Camera Control remains;
  • ProRes and Apple Log video are not listed.

The battery is split into two cells, one in each half. Apple has not disclosed the combined capacity. It quotes up to 44 hours of video playback on the outer display and 31 hours on the inner one.

Prices and stock

StoragePrice (US / UK)
256GB$1,999 / £1,999
512GB$2,199 / £2,199
1TB$2,599 / £2,599
2TB$3,199 / £3,199

Source: Macworld.

Pre-orders opened on 16 October, and according to TNW delivery dates for new orders slipped to late January within minutes. For the US 256GB model the estimate on 23 October was 22 January. In China, France, Hong Kong, India and Japan, stores handed phones only to customers who had ordered online. Availability in Hungary is not stated in the sources.

Chart: iPhone Duo storage options and prices
Chart based on the sources linked in this article.

What reviewers wrote

According to TNW's round-up, the first reviews are mixed:

  • John Gruber (Daring Fireball), as quoted by TNW, called it an extraordinarily polished prototype rather than a finished product he would carry himself.
  • Marques Brownlee's video review said it is probably not worth it for people who mostly text, use social media and browse.
  • Many third-party apps are not yet adapted to the inner display.

In a statement to the Financial Times, quoted by TNW, Apple called pre-order demand extraordinary. John Ternus has been Apple's chief executive since 1 September and unveiled the Duo eight days later.

What IDC expects

According to TNW, market researcher IDC expects Apple to account for 44% of foldable market value and 31% of units in 2026. That is the researcher's own estimate.

5 things many people don't know

  1. It has two batteries. The Duo uses two lithium-ion cells, one in each half.
  2. The inner selfie camera sits under the display. Apple placed the inner FaceTime camera under the screen and did not give its resolution.
  3. The memory size is not public. Apple did not disclose the RAM; supply-chain reports mentioned 12GB.
  4. There is no charger in the box. Charging to 50% takes about 20 minutes with a 60W or higher USB-C adapter, bought separately.
  5. Sydney went first. In the Sydney store a 512GB model cost A$3,899, about US$2,734.

Summary

  • The iPhone Duo went on sale on 23 October, from $1,999.
  • 5.4- and 7.6-inch displays, 254 g, Touch ID, no telephoto.
  • Online deliveries have slipped to late January; in-store stock is thin.
  • Reviewers praise the hinge and debate the everyday benefit.

Related reading: Blog archive.

Educational content. Not buying or investment advice. Data Analytic Investments is not affiliated with Apple, IDC, the reviewers or the portals cited; brand and product names belong to their owners and are used for identification only. Images labelled "AI illustration" are not photographs.

Explore Topics

#Apple#iPhone Duo#foldable phone#smartphone#technology#IDC#A20 Pro#Touch ID
D

Written by

Data Analytic Investments

Content creator and writer sharing insights and stories.

Share · Megosztás:XFacebookLinkedInWhatsAppTelegramE-mail